Goals

Goals…a word that can be the scariest yet most rewarding, big or little goals should always be a part of our lives.  What goals do you set? Goals can work in all aspects of our lives.  I have goals for everything, daily life, long term, personal, professional…and I have learned a few things over time. 1. its ok to change goals as your life changes, 2. set small goals to complete to help keep you motivated.
goal

When setting goals I like to start small and work my way to the bigger goals. While I have been working on my health I realized over the years I was expecting and doing to many changes all at once and then I would get discouraged and quit. So now my first goal is to work on my eating, then incorporate small exercises and work up to full time active workouts.  Its easier for my brain to focus on one step at a time, learning to walk before I run. When it comes to goal setting you need to focus on you and not people around you, going back to comparing…don’t compare where you are in your life to others. Focus on you and your goals.  For my health goals my first goal is my eating habits, I have chosen to cut out all process foods, make sure I’m eating the rainbow 😉 I do this with my Juice Plus, simple and easy!! http://nicolemorrison.juiceplus.com/us/en (yes my website;) )
rainbow
I try to eat at least 5 times a day, and yes I have a day where I splurge on unhealthy yumminess!! LOL  While I work on making my eating habits a healthy goal I have incorporated small at home exercises. I do 2 variations of planks, squats and counter-top push-ups. I do this every morning while my coffee is brewing. Simple but I feel accomplished because the goals I have set for myself are obtainable. Don’t let it get you down if you fall and take a few steps back, I have plenty of time…just keep getting up and keep moving towards your goals. Never give up.

When it comes to goals there are all different levels, start small and reach big. Make your goals realistic and obtainable. Be SMART about your goals. This is the best and simplest illustration to setting goals.
goals

Use these guidelines for all your goals, fitness, career, even relationships…although those are a little different and is a whole other blog 😉  Find someone to help you stay accountable and help support you and your goals. The best inspiration I found is making a vision board, its hanging up in my room where I can see it every day. I have a few goals that are small, some that lead to bigger goals and ones that well are private 🙂 You don’t have to share everything with everyone. Here are a few of my goals.

  1. Read one book a week
  2. Cut out all processed foods
  3. Travel once a month
  4. Pay off all debt
  5. Hike the 4 Peak Challenge
  6. Loose inches in my waist
  7. Start a retirement fund

I have a few more but there are a couple. As you can see there are small ones and big ones but every one is obtainable.

I have goals for my career and where I want to be and by when. I have a time line that I am staying focused on so I can reach a few of the goals above. I have goals for my personal relationships as well, both with friends and on a more romantic level. These goals don’t necessarily have time limit, but they do have “must have’s”. Write all your goals down, list them from small to big, celebrate when you have accomplished a goal. There is nothing wrong with being proud of yourself!!

No matter what do what makes YOU HAPPY!! Do what makes you want to achieve more!!  Share your goals with someone you trust to help you! Don’t give up and don’t get discouraged if you stray off the path, just get back on and keep going! Something I enjoy more than completing my own goals is seeing others complete their goals!!!
e74769e9063cf993c588b8104b8e8d3c

Leave a Reply

